Home » Administration » When is a Member not a Member?

When is a Member not a Member?

When they are part of a new SharePoint 2013 team site.

A funny thing happened on the way to SharePoint 2013. The members permission group we all know and love got a very significant permission upgrade.

If you open up a new SharePoint team site, you will notice that the members group now has a NEW permission level called “Edit” assigned to it.

This permission level adds the “Manage Lists” List Permission to the roster of permissions. What this enables members of your site to do now, in case you haven’t guessed it, is DELETE EXISTING lists, libraries, columns and public views. Got that? They can also create NEW lists, libraries, columns and public views.

I don’t know about you, but I was perfectly happy with members only having contribute rights to artifacts that were already put on a site by an owner and not being able to mess with what was already there. What is supposed to happen now that members of a site can create and delete? Anarchy is what. Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together… mass hysteria!

Oh, and by the way, if you have some sort of nagging thing in the back of your head trying to warn you about something else that relates to this, listen to yourself – you’re not wrong.

What you are trying to remember is that Advanced Item-level Permissions on lists had that caveat where “Users with the Manage Lists permission” (assigned at the “Design” level in 2010) can see and edit everything. So, now all the members of your site can see the items in the holiday leave list? The authorization for expenditures list?
AAAAAARRRRGGGGGG!

Actually, no.

In SharePoint 2013, the permission required to read and edit all the items in a list with Item-level Permissions is something very unhelpfully called “Cancel Checkout.” I call it unhelpful because there is no such list permission level. The permission level is actually called “Override List Behaviors” and is assigned at the “Approve” permission level or higher.
Whew!

Before the mass hysteria starts, just know that if you are upgrading your site(s) from 2010 to 2013, all your members groups will still hold on to their “Contribute” permission level. It is only when you create NEW sites in 2013 that you will have to worry and adjust accordingly, if needed.

CMNT_CLSD